$0.00

No products in the cart.

[email protected]

+19549288101

$0.00

No products in the cart.

Mark & Bonnie Colombo

Rated 5 out of 5
March 2, 2022

On Fri, Feb 11, 2022, 7:48 AM Mark Colombo wrote:
We installed the 16/35 on our 2014 Sessa Marine Key Largo 34 purchased at the Ft Lauderdale Boat Show.
Not only beautiful mounted on our bow but works great in the Florida Keys bottom.
Great functional design, very happy.
Mark & Bonnie Colombo

Mark & Bonnie Colombo

Andreas Kyanowski

Rated 5 out of 5
November 29, 2019

Dear Peter,
Thank you for your mail and for the proposal of the Ultra Anchor Ring.
Let me first tell you about my experiences with the Ultra Anchor – together with the Flip Swivel.
I used it quite often on my way down to Portugal, and each time it immediately grabs into the ground with perfect holding. Drop and forget. Never any worries, never bad holding. The Ultra Anchor is really a perfect (and beautiful) anchor! The Flip Swivel works perfect as well, which allows get the anchor up from the cockpit (using the electric switches I have there) without and worries that it comes over the bow roller in the wrong position. This is a safety issue and especially helps if you are sailing single-handed.
Another feature of the anchor is that the concentration of the weight in the tip helps the anchor to come out of the bow roller without any help. All my previous anchors had to be pushed over the bow roller before I could let them go down. The Ultra Anchor can be maneuvered completely from the cockpit without going to the bow – another safety feature.

Andreas Kyanowski

Thomas Nygaard

Rated 5 out of 5
November 23, 2019

(*)Thomas Nygaard Nov 23, 2019, 4:51 pm
I can offer some first hand experience with bent shanks vs. the Ultra swivel: This summer in Greece I had a catastrophic failure and loss of a 33kg ss R…. V…. anchor, its shank simply broke in two pieces by side loads from being caught in rocks. And guess what, it was attached to an Ultra swivel that survived without any signs of failure or bending! As can be seen on my pictures below, a slight dent could be seen in the bolt that went through the shank. This I have now replaced just to be sure.
I think this is great testament to the quality of the Ultra swivel and eventually led me to put trust in and to purchase an Ultra anchor as a replacement for the broken V…..
Anyway, it is easy to agree to many of the concerns of swivels in general that many commenters in here put forth, but I think it is appropriate to ask if any of this is relevant as long as the pieces are properly sized. The same probably goes for the discussion about shackle arrangements. But the unique self-righting feature of the Ultra swivel in my opinion represents a huge improvement over a pure shackle solution. For my yacht ( sy-cheetah.no ) it was also a bare necessity to use something slim as my bow roller channel is too narrow to accept a properly sized bow shackle, and a D-shackle alone just too easily jams. A rather un-mentioned but nice feature of the Ultra swivel is its very slim pointy design, offering the least possible resistance for the shank to dig itself deep into the sand while the anchor is being set. Compare this with the Mantus swivel which has a very large diameter, actually comparable to an “anchor rescue” device I tried for a while https://www.anchorrescue.com/how-it-works but with very deteriorating effect on anchor setting performance, it often prevented the shaft and thus entire anchor to dig in properly.
As to the hole in the Ultra shank being round rather than oblong, this is exactly how it should be since the anchor and swivel have been designed to work together! The R…. V…. I lost had an oblong hole which I had to fill with epoxy putty to make it round for the swivel to work properly! It should also be pointed out that the two pieces of the fork over the shank are connected with a solid arch, adding to its strength and reducing the chances that the fork is opened by side loads. Note also that the pin that goes through the chain is also ovale, this is not unique to the Mantus swivel.
Bottom line, I think the Ultra anchor is far from “motor boat jewellery”! Yes, it’s pretty and expensive, but together with the swivel it represents a great piece of engineering, and it is now adopted by premium sailing yacht brands such as Swan, Oyster and Hallberg-Rassy (and indeed on premium motor boats such as Fleming).
But too bad this post has not attracted more real user reviews on the holding capabilities of the anchor itself. I personally have only been able to use the Ultra anchor for four weeks in the Cyclades, with good results including riding out a Force 7-8 meltemi for five days in a row, but it would be interesting to hear more long-term users experience.
(*) Taken from another platform with the permission of Thomas Nygaard.

Thomas Nygaard

Goncalo Lemos

Rated 5 out of 5
August 25, 2019

Dear Giovanni,
I m sorry for the delay … been busy and when have a moment to rest is always something to fix..????
I m Goncalo Lemos, Captain, for 15years now, with experience on 25 -30meter yachts, and a long experience on anchor as well.
When first saw Ultramarine anchor on a boat show in Palma, I immediately notice the high quality and finishing as well the details of the anchor! Made an impression!
After looking and check any detail I felt that had to purchase it!!!!….
The confirmation of it, was when the commercial on the stand asked me to try the different scale anchors on a sandbox. That was really nice because could see the real performance on the sand, in model scale.
After a couple of years, due to the owner undecided if a sale or not the yacht, I purchased the Ultramarine anchor 80kg with the swivel.
I normally spend 3 to 4 months per year at anchor, on a 88 motor yacht.
Before had a Bruce anchor that made me drop around 70 m of chain to be more relaxed on a 8/10m depth…. and when wind changed, had to be sure the drift stopped as the bruce jumps out of the sand when pulled in opposite direction…so only sleep when had a line on the stern from the rocks, to stop the swing.
Basically couldn’t relax nor sleep well with the previews anchor.
This year, received the 80kg ultramarine anchor, made small modification on the bow for holding it perfectly, and have to say that looks amazing the bow with the bright of the stainless steel reflection.
Made some tests, but is never enough to be aware of the full capacity of the anchor except in a real situation, like with strong wind and natural forces.
Is now 3 months at anchor, and have already some episodes that occurred in meanwhile. Is just incredible good anchor and most of all safe!
Weather in Ibiza, the current position of the yacht, is more and more unpredictable, with very inaccurate forecasts.
The first situation that was somehow stressed, was when had no wind when drop anchor and forecast, was 5 to 10kts max, was with 5m depth and 15m chain, the wind starts to gusting around 25-30 kts!!!! The way the bow stopped after the swing and chain stretched, It looked like a tender!!! Like had a chain connected to a concrete block!! I couldn’t believe that the anchor didn’t moved or dragged with such a pull…. boat has nearly 80 tones…
Was worried as before in such conditions already had to move and drifted with the bruce anchor.
So stayed and observed the behavior of the all set and even took some chain up to see when was the time it started to drag and until the boat wasn’t t on top of it it didn’t came out!!!! Completely under the sand! Even the arm.
Also, one day, had my anchor under other boats when started to lift up. I thought could go near and with less chain on the water and close to the anchor, with engines reversing could pull it out and drag the anchor from under the other yacht.
Got again surprised!!! Because when revers engine the bow turns as it was on my port side, diagonal, that almost crashed !!!!???? had 8 m depth and 10-meter chain… I m only able to lift anchor if I m on top of it and the chain is vertical!!!! Amazing
Also, have to mention the comfort and practical is the swivel!!! Every time, I mean every single time lift anchor, had to make a stupid position and risk to fall to the water to make the anchor enter in the right position! So not upside …hated so much that…
So with this swivel, I don t even have to look if is straight or upside-down or even be at the bow..just lift it and is always in the correct position.
Definitely, recommend to anyone! Today can sleep relaxed without worry if it drifts or wind changes or even if gusts hard!!! Really!
On my anchor app that often use, and on the gps I register the track it makes so can observe how much drift have on wind change, and nothing but nothing concerning or even to make any adjustments on the perimeter of safety… not 10 not 8 m , is just the size of the anchor!! Like the scale model I ‘ve tried on the boat show!! Couldn’t t believe that was so accurate a model.
Had also a night, that a catamaran of 50ft drifted with no one on board, while was 20kts wind with gusts of 25-28kts, I was on alert due to being with a line to a rock on the stern, so no swing.
When my worries started to alarming, was when the cat chain and anchor got stuck on my Anchor and chain!!! Near the anchor !! So I was facing a risk that the cat could lift or move my anchor!!! Something I didn’t t expected !! So couldn’t lift my anchor because would risk to have the other anchor stuck on mine and so no manoeuvring capability had with a catamaran of 50 ft stuck on my anchor….
So managed with my tender to and a line to take the chain of the cat and secure it on my bow as the wind was blowing from the starboard.
It was a situation of stress but, luckily have an amazing anchor that could hold a 88ft yacht and the 50 catamaran with 25kts !!!!and the cat had the anchor on the arm of the ultramarine anchor!! Didn’t t move a inch!!!!!!
This, and some smaller experiences had already with it, can be formed a proper review and opinion of how reliable is the amazing Anchor.
There is one thing that is negative!
Is that didn’t t purchased this anchor earlier!!!:)
To any yacht owner, my experience so far with this anchor is a MUST have on board! Is priceless the safety and tranquility of not be worried for wind direction or change, or the excess of chain on the water to be more secure.Something that today allows me to be in spots with less swing diameter as can have less chain in the water.
My congratulations to the Ultramarine work of building such an amazing anchor with superior finishing quality! There is no words for a product that has a lifetime warranty! Is because is good!!!
Best Regards,
Capt.
Gonçalo Lemos

Goncalo Lemos

Tolga Aydınol

Rated 5 out of 5
August 16, 2019

Hi;
16 August 2019 evening..
place: gokova akbuk bay
450 lagoon and we anchored,
the breeze started at around 23.00 left its place to a storm “45-65” knot for 6 hours and the whole time ULTRA Anchor did a fantastic job and we didn’t move an inch.
We thank you, everyone, for making such an anchor giving us confidence even during this nightmare…

Tolga Aydınol